GARY – The Society of Innovators of Northwest Indiana announced Today 40 New members !

GARY – The Society of Innovators of Northwest Indiana announced today that 40 new members will be inducted during the 13thAnnual Innovators Induction Ceremony at Horseshoe Casino, Hammond on Thursday, Oct. 26, 2017. The Society is the largest project of the Gerald I. Lamkin Innovation & Entrepreneurship Center, Ivy Tech Community College.


Each year, The Society seeks nominations of the most innovative individuals and teams in our 7-county region, said John Davies, assistant director of the center and managing director, The Society of Innovators. Nominations come from Jasper, Lake, LaPorte, Porter, Newton, Pulaski and Starke Counties.


The Society will induct 19 new individual members and 21 team members. In addition, four additional members inducted previously will be recognized as part of the 2017 – 2018 Class. They are Chris Mahlmann; Michael Schrage; Chenn Zhou, Ph.D., and Frank Schilling.


Society Individual Members 


The new individual members are: Marianne Burell-Moore, Cardinal Tech; Jason Zaideman, Operation Combat Bikesaver; D.E. “Sonshine” Troche, Worthy Recovery, Inc.; Jerry Jackson, Nick Minich, and Todd Taylor, City of La Porte; Norm Fischer, The Fischer Group; Sheriff David Reynolds, Porter County; Jerome Fleming, Herbal Swirl Soak & Soothe; Jerry Skorupa, Altherm Services; Dr. Peggy Buffington, Hobart School Corporation; Dr. Teresa Eineman, Crown Point School Community Corporation; Janet Seabrook, M.D., Community Healthnet; Troy McCloskey, Fair Oaks Farm Fresh Discovery; Greg Mance, Griffith Police Department; Manghui Tu, PNW; Adam Klimczak; La Porte Police Department; Angela Similgius, Kova Bag Co, Richard Hug, Ph.D.; Indiana University Northwest.


Society Team Members


The new Society team members are: Alley Cats, PATH, Inc.; Arconic Power & Propulsion La Porte Engineering Team; “Making the Grade,” Lakeshore Public Television; The Amanda Forum, The Caring Place; History Team, The Times Media Company; Frozen Garden Smoothies; Munster Police Department; Plate Accelerating Cooling Team, ArcelorMittal Global R&D; Multi Agency Academic Cooperative (MAAC) Foundation; Hammond Group, Inc., Lead Acid Battery Lab; MonoSol, MonoSol New Ventures; Decay Devils; Promise Porter County; Spark Labs, La Porte County Library; Michigan City “Week of Code” Team; Unity Park Team, Unity Foundation of La Porte County; PNW QuarkNet Center; Civic Innovators Convening, Legacy Foundation; Hot Shop Valpo; Sonam Technologies, Inc.; Whoa, City of Whiting.


Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public post-secondary institution and the nation’s largest singly-accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students enrolled annually.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana.  It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana.  It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.