Ivy Tech’s Society of Innovators launches Expedition Innovation 2015: “A Call for Nominations”

Crown Point –To discover more innovators and encourage more innovation to make Northwest Indiana more competitive, The Society of Innovators of Ivy Tech Community College announced today its 7-county “Expedition Innovation 2015 – ‘A Call for Nominations.’ ” The Expedition will run between June 2 and June 17, 2015 and help kick off the second decade of The Society of Innovators. Meanwhile, nominations open tomorrow – Friday, May 15, 2015 – on “Innovation Day, 2015!”


Instead of issuing an annual “Call for Nominations” at a joint news conference, The Society of Innovators is holding one news conference in each of the 7 counties of Northwest Indiana as part of its 11th Annual Call for Nominations. “We have always had a 7-county ‘Call,’ said O’Merrial Butchee, Director, Gerald I. Lamkin Innovation & Entrepreneurship Center, Ivy Tech Community College. “But this is the first time we are going into each of the 7 counties for this purpose.” The Expedition will embrace the 7 counties of Northwest Indiana: Jasper, Lake, La Porte, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, and Starke Counties.


Announced at a news conference today at the Purdue Technology Center of NWI, the 7-county call is aimed at taking a deep dive into finding the “hidden innovators” of Northwest Indiana, said Don Babcock, Director, Economic Development, NIPSCO and a Board Governor with The Society. “Innovation is the foundation of our economy and we need to encourage more innovation in every sector,” Babcock said. “There are innovators out there who are below the radar that are making important contributions to our region, state and world. We want to find them!”  The 7-County Call is sponsored by Ivy Tech Community College and NIPSCO.


John Davies, Managing Director, The Society of Innovators, said, “Innovators improve our quality of life and strengthen our economy. We are excited about this new effort to reach further and deeper into discovering how innovation impacts the region.” He added this effort is intended to demonstrate The Society of Innovators serves all 7 counties.


Called regional news conferences, the following news conferences are scheduled: Lake County, Whiting City Hall, June 2; Newton County, Fair Oaks Farms, June 4th; Jasper County, Sandy Pines Golf Club, SP 19 American Kitchen and Bar, June 5th; Starke County, Kemin Industries, North Judson, June 10th; Pulaski County, Pulaski County CDC/Economic Development, Winamac, June 11th; La Porte County, La Porte County Historical Society Museum, June 16th; and Porter County, Family Express Corporate Offices, June 17th.  Reservations are required to attend these news conferences, Davies said.


To encourage creativity and ideas, “Thomas Edison” made a surprise appearance. He was performed by Prof. Jared Riddle, Ivy Tech Community College.  Another speaker was Richard Sussman, Ph.D., Chair, The Society. Also encouraging a “spirit of adventure” was “Northwest Indiana John” inspired by Indiana Jones and performed by Davies, who described himself as “finding adventure in ordinary things.” Davies has walked across the region three times, a distance of 65 miles each time.


Called “Innovation Day 2015,” nominations open Friday, May 15th for individuals and teams.  They are made online at www.ivytech.edu/northwest. Click on the light bulb and chose either individuals or teams. Nominations close at 5 p.m. Monday, July 6, 2015. For information, contact Davies at 219- 981-1111, Ext. 2292 or via email at jdavies8@ivytech.edu.


Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.