Ivy Tech’s Society of Innovators to end 7-County “Call for Nominations” in LaPorte on June 16th and Valparaiso on June 17th!

Gary – The Society of Innovators of Ivy Tech Community College will conclude its first 7-County Call for Nominations to encourage innovation and discover innovators with visits to La PorteCounty on June 16th and PorterCounty on June 17th. This is part of the Expedition Innovation 2015 – “A Call for Nominations.”


“Ivy Tech Community College recognizes the importance of innovation to Northwest Indiana and so we wanted to serve our larger community by taking this message to each of our 7 counties,” said Dr. Thomas G. Coley, Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College Northwest & Northeast Regions.


Rather than conduct a single joint news conference to issue a call for nominations, The Society of Innovators is holding a “call” in each of the 7 counties of Northwest Indiana. Launched in 2005, The Society made the announcement to conduct its 7-County Call on May 14th at the PurdueTechnologyCenter.


To discover innovators and encourage innovation in Northwest Indiana, The Society will have conducted “calls’ for five counties by the end of this week. Events will have been held in Lake, Newton, Jasper, Starke and PulaskiCounties.


The 7-County Call will conclude in LaPorte and PorterCounties on June 16th and June 17th, respectively. “As we begin our second decade for The Society, we wanted to demonstrate to our local communities that we appreciate their contributions,” said O’Merrial Butchee, Director, GeraldI.LamkinInnovation & EntrepreneurshipCenter, based at the Gary Campus. The Society of Innovators is the largest project of the Lamkin I & E Center.


On Tuesday, June 16th, the LaPorteCountyHistoricalSocietyMuseum will host the “call for nominations” co-hosted by the Greater LaPorte Chamber of Commerce with Mike Seitz, President. As each event features local innovators, Dr. Peter C. Kesling, D.D.S, Sc.D., who holds more than 50 patents, will be recognized. Kesling, an orthodontist, is a 2008 Fellow in The Society of Innovators. Issuing a welcome will be Commissioner Mike Bohacek, LaPorte County Commissioners.


Then on Wednesday, June 17th, Family Express,Valparaiso will wrap up the 7-County Call Recognized will be CEO and President Gus Olympidis. Olypmidis is a 2012 Fellow in The Society of Innovators. Co-hosting the event is the Greater Valparaiso Chamber of Commerce led by Rex Richards, President, Chamber. Issuing a welcome will be Mayor Jon Costas of Valparaiso.


“This has been a wonderful opportunity to not only discover more innovators, but also to learn about the innovations of local communities,” said Donald L. Babcock, a Board Governor with The Society, who serves as Director, Economic Development, NIPSCO. “We want to find those hidden innovators operating under the radar who are improving our quality of life and strengthening our economy.”


Nominations to The Society are made online for individuals and teams.  Go to www.ivytech.edu/northwest. Click on the light bulb and chose either individuals or teams. Nominations close at 5 p.m. Monday, July 6, 2015. For information, contact John Davies,


Assistant Director, Lamkin I & E Center, and Managing Director, The Society of Innovators  at 219- 981-1111, Ext. 2292 or via email at jdavies8@ivytech.edu.

As part of its 7-County Call for Nominations, the following events are being held in the 7 counties: Lake County, Whiting City Hall, June 2; Newton County, Fair Oaks Farms, June 4th; Jasper County, Sandy Pines Golf Club, SP 19 American Kitchen and Bar, June 5th; Starke County, Kemin Industries, North Judson, June 10th; Pulaski County, Pulaski County CDC/Economic Development, Winamac, June 11th; La Porte County, La Porte County Historical Society Museum, June 16th; and Porter County, Family Express Corporate Offices, June 17th.


Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.