Society of Innovators call for nominations

GARY – Ivy Tech Community College Northwest’s Society of Innovators a project of The Gerald I. Lamkin Innovation & Entrepreneurship Center (I&E Center) announced its 10th Annual “Call for Nominations” for individuals and teams. The announcement took place at an 11 a.m. news conference on Thursday May 8, 2014 at the Purdue Technology Center, 9800 Connecticut Drive, Crown Point.


“We are very proud that The Society of Innovators has not only discovered that innovation is everywhere in our region, but has raised awareness of the importance of innovation to everyone,” said Dr. Thomas G. Coley, Chancellor, Ivy Tech Community College Northwest and North Central. The Society has nearly 300 individual and team members across all sectors, in addition to an estimated 600 associate team members.


Nominations will open on “Innovation Day” on Friday, May 9th for innovative individuals and teams in the 7-counties for Jasper, Lake, LaPorte Newton, Porter, Pulaski and Starke Counties, said O’Merrial Butchee, Director, Gerald I. Lamkin Innovation & Entrepreneurship Center. “We encourage nominations from every sector because we believe that ‘anyone can be an innovator,’” she said. Nominations are only accepted online at Nominations close at 5 p.m. on Monday, July 7th (Central Standard Time).


A new team award was headlined called “Accelerating Greatness,” said John Davies, Managing Director, The Society of Innovators and Assistant Director of the Lamkin I &E Center. “For almost a year, we have been working on a new team award to reflect the growing number of team nominations,” he added.


The winners of the 2014 Young Innovators Video Challenge (a new activity for this year’s 10th anniversary celebration) were also announced.  Dr. Lisa Hopp, founding director of the Indiana Center for Evidenced-Based Nursing Practice, Purdue University Calumet and a 2013-2014 Society Fellow, offered keynote remarks.







The Society of Innovators of Northwest Indiana is a project of Ivy Tech Community College Northwest’s Gerald I. Lamkin Innovation and Entrepreneurship Center. Launched in 2005, it is based at the Gary Campus but also serves the East Chicago, Michigan City and Valparaiso campuses.


For information, contact Davies at 219 981-1111, Ext. 2292.


Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public post-secondary institution and the nation’s largest singly-accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students enrolled annually.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana.  It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana.  It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.