GARY — The Society of Innovators of Northwest Indiana at Ivy Tech Community College announced that 39 new members will be welcomed during the 12th Annual Innovators Induction Ceremony at Horseshoe Casino in Hammond on Thursday, Oct. 20. Two additional members inducted previously also will be honored as part of the 2016 – 2017 Class of Innovators.


“We are proud that our innovators are strengthening our economy and improving our quality of life,” said O’Merrial Butchee, director of the Gerald I. Lamkin Innovation & Entrepreneurship Center at Ivy Tech Community College. This year’s inductees, Fellows, Accelerating Greatness and Chanute Prize co-recipients are selected from among new and existing members of The Society of Innovators.


Each year, The Society of Innovators – a project of the Lamkin I & E Center – seeks nominations of the most innovative people in our region, said John Davies, assistant director of the center and managing director of The Society of Innovators. Nominations come from Jasper, Lake, La Porte, Porter, Newton, Pulaski and Starke counties. The two categories for membership are individuals and teams.


Society Individual Members:


The 18 new individual members are: Joe Bavuso; Gordon “Big Daddy” Biffle Jr.; Charlie Blum; Ralph Gee III; Diego Gonzalez; Jon Groth; Supt. Debra K. Howe, Ph.D.; Lynne Jordan; Patti Komara; Elizabeth Lynn; Ph.D.; Thomas L. Keon; Ph.D.; Mark Mabrito, Ph.D.; Sheena Marrell; Sandra Chimon-Peszek Rogers, Ph.D.; Kathy Sipple; Dwayne Walker; Pam Wheelock; and Adam Woolever.


Society Team Members:


The 21 new team members being inducted are: aqUV Purificaton System; Artspace Uptown Artist Lofts; Automotive Product Research, ArcelorMittal Global Research and Development Center; Center for Community Philanthropy, Porter County Community Foundation, Inc.; Commercialization and Manufacturing Excellence Center, Purdue University Northwest; Community Civility Counts, Gary Chamber with The Times; Construction Safety Institute, Construction Advancement Foundation; Dental Home Health Division, Compton & Broomhead Dental Center; Dunes Learning Center; Dwyer Instruments Inc.; Gary Community School Corporation Bead Town Project; Grand Calumet River Partners in Restoration; JT Shrimp, LLC; Michigan City Chamber Music  Festival; Miller Beach Arts & Creative District; Opportunity Enterprises Curricula Department; Pratt Paper Mill, Valparaiso; “Shifting Sands – On the Path to Sustainability;” Trail Creek Watershed Partnership; TradeWinds Electronic Recycling; Urschel Laboratories, Inc.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.